Add some steps to this apple.

DSCF2149-bearbeitet

„An apple a day …“. Who has not been told this loving momma wisdom when being a child?
I fully agree on this quote when it comes to my corporal health.
I have always liked to treat my body with vitamins that come directly from fruits and veggies instead of pills and sweetend juices. My body always treated me well so why haven’t I always been doing the same to my body? We often forget, that happiness inside is only possible with a healthy and happy outside.
Statistics actually showed that our brain works best when our body is the healthiest.

Now that I have become more careful with my „shell“ and try to always keep it in best condition, it’s also time for my mind to get some vitamins.

So what I would like to suggest today, is something that really gets my going:

A good old-fashioned walk.

I started walking approximately a year ago when I lived in Italy and was depending on public transportion which is, honestly, a mess down there.
So I decided to get up half an hour earlier and walk all the way to work (about 4 kilometers/ 2,5 miles) and back.
After a week or so I started to feel different and on the weekends I was almost a little sad because I would miss out on my morning walks. While in the beginning I was bothered by moving so much (exhausting!) and being in a hurry, as time passed by I got used to it. I integrated walking into my daily routine and i kept the habit when I moved back to my home country.
Not only that walking in the cold morning and breathing the freshest air is as good as any double espresso to wake up. I also started to develope an appetite in the morning and since then I have been treating myself with a rich and healthy breakfast which spends a lot of energy and is much more body friendly than skipping breakfast and jumping straight to a super big and fast meal at lunchtime.
In addition I can skip gym because my legs are in the best shape they’ve ever been.
Reaching office exhausted has the great effect to keep me (most of the time) from being nervous or hectic.
Not to mention that I got time to think about my to do list for the day and bring my thoughts in order before I actually start the day. Some of the best ideas I had over the last time, came when I was walking.
If thats not enough for you, what about these reasons to get moving?
Its so beautiful to see the changes each season brings. Its fun to recognize specific trees, bushes and flowers and streets getting ready for winter and starting all over new in spring. I really feel like a part of nature now. I even noticed that the condition my picked path is in, may influence my mood for the day. I can wake up with a headache but be a new person once I reached the office.
And why not bring your quasi unused 500$ camera, pick the spot you love most and take a picture each months. These fotogaphs will make a great and very personal collage in the end.

So my suggestion is to adapt some steps into your everydaylife.
For lots of people their way to work might be too long or they don’t have enough time to do so. If kids or miles make those plans impossible maybe you’ll find a different way of adding some steps to each day.
Just imagine walking to the grocery store instead of driving and not having to find a spot in the corwded parking lot. Or imagine getting out of the sub two or more stations before you reach work and pick a flower on the way to put on your desk and enjoy all day. Or imagine picking up your kids from school and walking home together – explaining to them some history of your city, crossing a park and watching birds and getting some ice cream instead of spending time in traffic.
For me it has changed a lot to be in constant movement and just walk.
It will make you feel more relaxed, healthier and after a little time – even happier.

Kaissa

Leave a Reply

